Thumbs to Joysticks, Pens to Paper

Jayden Perry is turning twenty on December 27, he started uni a year later than his other first year counterparts, but not without good reason! He spent 2013 reading, writing, embarking on the beginnings of his gamer-press career, and visiting Hobbiton in New Zealand.

Jayden spends most of his time at Uni, or making his way to Uni, but in his spare time he’s an avid gamer, writing for the online-magazine of OXCGN. When asked where he wants to go with his career, his answer is immediate and enthusiastic. “Writing for a website like Polygon or IGN, or running my own media outlet to do with pop culture. I’d also love to design and write stories for games, especially for Ubisoft!”

Jayden is drawn to games because of the beautiful worlds created within them and the endless possibilities that they represent. In a world where much of the mystery is gone, games and books give us the chance to investigate and explore concepts that may never exist.. or may exist in the far future.

He’s also a writer, attending the Writers festival in Sydney. He began writing at the end of the HSC when he found time  to explore his passions. He spoke to a few companies including another online site, Real Otaku Gamer, and wrote some small pieces which led him to gaming journalism. Through writing pro bono for OXCGN he’s gotten a real feel for the industry, developing contacts and giving him some hands-on experience in the field.

“I always knew I wanted to go into games. Originally I was going to jump into 3D animation and game design, and I really enjoyed that but it’s so expensive to do the course. I found myself looking at games from all sorts of angles, the creation side, the review side, and with the writing I’ve been doing, the more I wrote about it, the further into the industry I got and I decided that this was something I could definitely see myself doing.”

He worries about the competitiveness in the field, and has serious reservations about the sexism and misogyny present in the industry. “Sexism seems to permeate media and society, it has a huge effect on the face of journalism. We need to see a mass change in society where these attitudes are really unacceptable instead of being tolerated or ignored.”

When he finds his mind too cluttered, Jayden swears by taking a simple walk. He says that getting out and walking clears the mind and allows room for new ideas, or solutions to your problems. He says he finds creative freedom in walking, in being able to let his mind wander.

When asked who inspires him, Jayden replies;

“I find myself looking up to people in the entertainment industry that are just really great role models. From people like Rae Johnston (pop culture journo), Ken Levine and Manveer Heir to an aussie writer Matthew Reilly, I feel like there are a lot of amazing people in the industry I love that either create things I wish I was a part of or are doing huge things as individuals to change the way society is, these are people I look up to!” 

Image

Leave a Reply

